Bracken, Hussey off Australian cricket contract
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:NW Bracken, SR Clark, DJ Hussey

DateLine: 7th April 2010


The Australian board have announced fresh contracts for the upcoming international season and the major causalities are the right handed middle order batsman David Hussey, left arm seamer Nathan Bracken and Stuart Clark.


That trio, along with Victoria's Brad Hodge who announced his retirement from the first class stage and South Australian wicketkeeper Graham Manou, have been removed from the 25-player contracted list for 2010-11.


The newcomers are quicks Ryan Harris and Clint McKay, wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine, allrounder Steven Smith and batsman Adam Voges.


Veteran paceman Brett Lee retained his contract, despite his recent injury and form struggles, while fellow speedster Shaun Tait is also still on the list despite his status as a virtual Twenty20 specialist.


All contracted players will receive a minimum $200,000 retainer, plus match fees, tour fees and prize money for any on-field success.


"Shaun Tait has had his contact renewed as we see him as an important member of the ICC World Twenty20 squad and a real chance to force his way back into the Australian 50 over side. At his best he is a powerful weapon in limited overs cricket," selection panel chairman Andrew Hilditch said.


"It is disappointing for Stuart Clark and Nathan Bracken who have not received contracts for 2010-11. Both Stuart and Nathan have fantastic records for Australia and not renewing their contracts was a very hard decision.


"The reality is that other bowlers have seized the opportunity over the last six months in both Test and limited overs cricket.


"... David Hussey is also very unlucky not to receive a contract after a very successful domestic season and is part of our ICC World Twenty20 squad.


"The outstanding form of our 50 over one-day side over the last 12 months meant that he narrowly missed a contract this year."


The list of contracted players for 2010-11 : Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, Phillip Hughes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Tim Paine, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive